Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Washington State Auto Insurance Requirement

The United States of America is a federation of fifty states and a federal district. ach state or district have its own laws or requirements as regard motor insurance. A driver in Washington must have either insurance liability policy, a certificate of deposit, or a liability bond to the required limits. For auto insurance in Washington, one must have minimum liability insurance as follows:

$25,000 for injury to another person
$50,000 for injuries to all other persons
$10,000 for damage to another’s property

A driver in Washington you must carry a proof of auto insurance at all times. Thus to drive in Washington, you must carry an identification card from a motor insurance company which must bear the name of the insurance company, a policy number, effective and expiry date of the insurance policy, description of the insured vehicle and name of the insured driver. Any driver when asked by a law enforcement officer for proof of auto insurance but failed to show proof of insurance will be considered to have committed a traffic violation and liable to a fine of $450 in addition to whatever fines imposed by the courts. This traffic violation may also be added to your driving record.

The above requirements also apply to non-resident visitors to Washington state.

No comments: